The Rotary Club of Johannesburg New Dawn was chartered on January 20, 2009, by the Rotary Club of Morningside, whose then President Adele Thomas inducted Rtn Don Lindsay as the club’s first President. The name New Dawn reflects the club’s commitment to being a place where Rotarians of any race, creed, gender, and age will feel comfortable and welcome.

We are a group of diverse professional people, united in friendship and a sense of giving back. We aim to ensure that the main focus of the club’s energies will be on service to the community.  The name New Dawn also reflects the club’s commitment to being a place where Rotarians can have fun while at the same time serving the community


Our mission is to transform communities by empowering young people.
We aim to provide:

  • Services that empower and sustain
  • Partnerships with communities for the upliftment of young people
  • Sustainable support to children in need


We want to walk to the beat of a different drum.

We want to make a sustainable difference for young people in Africa.

New Dawn will be the Rotary Club which changes the image of Rotary in Africa.

Mailing Address

The Rotary Club of Johannesburg New Dawn
PostNet Suite #58
Private Bag X9
Melville, Johannesburg

2020-2021 Board

Club Officers
Immediate Past PresidentIPP Judy
President ElectJulian
Exec Sec/YouthPP Joan
FoundationPP Mike
Projects/Elect. MediaAbigail
MembershipPDG Jankees
Public Relations/FundraisingPP Linda
Ex OfficioPP Carol

Paul Harris Fellows

Members Past and Present
Ian WiddopLinda Vink
PDG Johan Sligcher +8PP Paul Kasango
Carin Holmes +1Frayne Mathijs
Judith SligcherJenine Coetzer
PP Graham DonetPP Mike Vink
Prof Lucille BlumbergPP Joan Donet +1
Eleanor HoughDr Yakub Essak
Ronnie KasrilsMichael MacDonald
PP David MarshallJoan Sainsbury
PP Carol StierMegan Maynard
Julian Nagy

Paul Harris Fellows - The Story

The Paul Harris Fellowship was established in 1957 to show appreciation for and to encourage contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only programme, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.
       The first Paul Harris Fellows include 1937-38 RI Director Allison G Brush and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs Harry L Jones was the second and one of only five people recognised for contributions made in 1957.

Early Paul Harris Fellows received a certificate of recognition. In 1969, the Foundation unveiled the first Paul Harris Fellow medallion at the RI Convention in Honolulu, Hawaii, in the US. Japanese metal artist Fiju Tsuda created the piece under the direction of the then past Foundation Trustee Kyozo Yuasa. Today, Paul Harris Fellows receive a certificate and pin. They are also eligible to purchase a Paul Harris Fellow medallion.
       Rotarians have a tradition of supporting the Foundation by honouring others. Ida LeTulle Taylor became a Paul Harris Fellow in 1978 when her husband, the then District Governor Vann Taylor, made a donation in her name in honour of their 34th wedding anniversary. The gift also made her the 25,000th Paul Harris Fellow.

© Rotary Club of Johannesburg New Dawn | All rights reserved. 2018