Rotary New Dawn's Vision
Rotary New Dawn's Mission
Rotary New Dawn's Values

The 2021-2022 Council Members

Club President Ian Widdop and Interim President (changes every month)
Rotary Portfolio Officers
Treasurer Hannes Dressler and Shan Vorster
Executive Secretariat Karlien Kruger and Joan Donet
Foundation Judy Sligcher and Janice Angove
Membership Linda Vink, Brenda Sakellarides, and Joan Sainsbury
Public Image Karen Harkema and Carol Stier
International Service Llewellyn Leonard and Cuthbert Gumbochuma
Area of Focus Representatives
Books and Literacy Amina Frense
Urban Farming Brendon Martens
Environment Babette Gallard
Art and Creativity Joan Sainsbury
Women and Child Mayshree Bhim and Annette Volschenk

Paul Harris Fellows

Members Past and Present
Ian Widdop Linda Vink
PDG Johan Sligcher +1 PP Paul Kasango
Carin Holmes +1 Frayne Mathijs
Judith Sligcher Jenine Coetzer
PP Graham Donet PP Mike Vink
Prof Lucille Blumberg PP Joan Donet +1
Eleanor Hough Dr Yakub Essak
Ronnie Kasrils Michael MacDonald
PP David Marshall Joan Sainsbury
PP Carol Stier Megan Maynard
Julian Nagy

Current and Incoming Presidents

2020 – 2022

Ian Widdop

Immediate Past President
2019 – 2020

PDGA/PP Judy Sligcher

Status Of 2020 - 2021 Objectives

Membership Trends

Membership Goal 38
% of Goal 100%
Female Members
32 61.5%
Male Members
20 38.5%


Literacy Projects
% of Projects 38%
Projects with other NPOs
% of Projects 38%
Adhoc Projects
% of Projects 26%

Paul Harris Fellows - The Story

The Paul Harris Fellowship was established in 1957 to show appreciation for and to encourage contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only programme, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.
       The first Paul Harris Fellows include 1937-38 RI Director Allison G Brush and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs Harry L Jones was the second and one of only five people recognised for contributions made in 1957.

Early Paul Harris Fellows received a certificate of recognition. In 1969, the Foundation unveiled the first Paul Harris Fellow medallion at the RI Convention in Honolulu, Hawaii, in the US. Japanese metal artist Fiju Tsuda created the piece under the direction of the then past Foundation Trustee Kyozo Yuasa. Today, Paul Harris Fellows receive a certificate and pin. They are also eligible to purchase a Paul Harris Fellow medallion.
       Rotarians have a tradition of supporting the Foundation by honouring others. Ida LeTulle Taylor became a Paul Harris Fellow in 1978 when her husband, the then District Governor Vann Taylor, made a donation in her name in honour of their 34th wedding anniversary. The gift also made her the 25,000th Paul Harris Fellow.

Rotary International

Rotary International President 2021/22

Shekhar Metha RI President 2021/22
Shekhar Metha

Presidential Theme 2021/22

© Rotary Club of Johannesburg New Dawn | All rights reserved. 2018 – 2021