Rotary Club of Johannesburg New Dawn

Rotary New Dawn's Vision
Rotary New Dawn's Mission
Rotary New Dawn's Values

The 2020-2021 Board Members

Club Officers
PresidentIan Widdopwiddop@mweb.co.za
Immediate Past PresidentIPP Judy Sligcherjustjudy@mweb.co.za
President ElectJulian Nagyjnagy@iafrica.com
SecretaryTony Reddyreddy.tony1@gmail.com
Exec Sec/YouthPP Joan Donetjoandonet.60@gmail.com
TreasurerJulian Nagyjnagy@iafrica.com
FoundationPP Mike Vinkmike@aucklandlodge.co.za
MembershipPDG Jankees Sligcherjs77@mweb.co.za
Public Relations/FundraisingPP Linda Vinklinda@aucklandlodge.co.za
International Services ChairLlewellyn Leonardllewel@unisa.ac.za
ProjectsIan Widdopwiddop@mweb.co.za
PR/Social MediaPP Carol Stiercalstier@gmail.com

Paul Harris Fellows

Members Past and Present
Ian WiddopLinda Vink
PDG Johan Sligcher +1PP Paul Kasango
Carin Holmes +1Frayne Mathijs
Judith SligcherJenine Coetzer
PP Graham DonetPP Mike Vink
Prof Lucille BlumbergPP Joan Donet +1
Eleanor HoughDr Yakub Essak
Ronnie KasrilsMichael MacDonald
PP David MarshallJoan Sainsbury
PP Carol StierMegan Maynard
Julian Nagy

Current and Incoming Presidents

President
2020 – 2021

Ian Widdop

Julian Nagy

President-Elect
2021 – 2022

Julian Nagy

Immediate Past President
2019 – 2020

PDGA/PP Judy Sligcher

Status Of Objectives

Membership Trends

Membership Goal 38
% of Goal 100%
Female Members
26 57.8%
Male Members
19 42.2%

Projects

Literacy Projects
% of Projects 38%
Projects with other NPOs
% of Projects 38%
Adhoc Projects
% of Projects 26%

Paul Harris Fellows - The Story

The Paul Harris Fellowship was established in 1957 to show appreciation for and to encourage contributions to what was then the Foundation’s only programme, Rotary Foundation Fellowships for Advanced Study, the precursor to Ambassadorial Scholarships.
       The first Paul Harris Fellows include 1937-38 RI Director Allison G Brush and longtime RI Treasurer Rufus F Chapin, both for donations made in 1946. Mrs Adan Vargas was the first woman to receive the recognition, for a gift made in 1953. Mrs Harry L Jones was the second and one of only five people recognised for contributions made in 1957.

Early Paul Harris Fellows received a certificate of recognition. In 1969, the Foundation unveiled the first Paul Harris Fellow medallion at the RI Convention in Honolulu, Hawaii, in the US. Japanese metal artist Fiju Tsuda created the piece under the direction of the then past Foundation Trustee Kyozo Yuasa. Today, Paul Harris Fellows receive a certificate and pin. They are also eligible to purchase a Paul Harris Fellow medallion.
       Rotarians have a tradition of supporting the Foundation by honouring others. Ida LeTulle Taylor became a Paul Harris Fellow in 1978 when her husband, the then District Governor Vann Taylor, made a donation in her name in honour of their 34th wedding anniversary. The gift also made her the 25,000th Paul Harris Fellow.

Rotary International

Rotary International President 2020/21

Holger Knaack

Presidential Theme 2020/21

© Rotary Club of Johannesburg New Dawn | All rights reserved. 2018 – 2021